side menu icon

Girl Awards

Looking for ways to develop your leadership, community service skills, or personal faith? Love the out-of-doors, or mentoring younger Girl Scouts? How about making a lasting impact on your community? Take your Girl Scout experience to the next level with Girl Scout awards.

Girl Scout Bronze, Silver, and Gold Awards

Visit the Highest Awards page for more information about these prestigious Girl Scout awards.

Community Service Bar

Available to Girl Scout Cadettes, Seniors and Ambassadors.

Community Service Bars recognize Girl Scouts who are making a difference in their communities - and practicing the values of the Girl Scout Promise and Law. Earning the Community Service Bar is a great way for girls to get involved in a cause they care about. To earn the bar, girls must develop a partnership with an organization and get it approved by their service unit’s event and travel coordinator (ETC) before starting to give service. To get a partnership approved, please complete the Community Service Bar Application. Once the partnership is approved, girls must receive four (4) hours of training and provide at least 20 hours of service to an organization outside of Girl Scouts. If your service unit does not have an ETC, please submit the form to your service unit manager.

For more information, please contact your service unit’s ETC or call 800-338-5248.

Service to Girl Scouting

Available to Girl Scout Cadettes, Seniors, and Ambassadors

If you choose to volunteer at least 20 hours to the Girl Scout organization, you can earn the Service to Girl Scouting bar. For example, you might volunteer your time at a special event for younger girls, be an office assistant for your council or service unit, serve on a council-wide girl committee, help clean up one of the GSOSW properties, or help with other special projects.

This award can be earned once at each grade level.

More information can be found in The Girl's Guide to Girl Scouting, or you can connect with girl or adult Girl Scout members to brainstorm ideas for service.

Torch Awards

Available to Girl Scout Cadettes, Seniors, and Ambassadors

The Silver Torch award (Cadettes), Gold and Silver Torch award (Seniors), and Gold Torch award (Ambassadors) recognize older girls who act as leaders in their communities. To earn this award, you must complete a Leadership Journey and serve for one full term in a leadership position. This could be at your school, place of worship, after-school club, community center, or similar organization! Torch awards can be earned with Girl Scouts or with another organization.

This award can be earned once at each grade level.

More information can be found in The Girl’s Guide to Girl Scouting. Connect with girl or adult Girl Scout members or members of the community to brainstorm ideas for leadership roles.

Teen Mentoring Awards

Available for Girl Scout Cadettes, Seniors, and Ambassadors

When you guide or teach others, you act as a mentor! As a teen mentor, you share your skills, test your knowledge and try out new leadership roles. For younger girls that you mentor, this is a chance to learn from teens—and in the eyes of these younger Girl Scouts, you are like a local rock star! 

Teen mentoring awards can be listed on your resumé; these awards demonstrate that you have what it takes to lead, which is great experience for future jobs or can bolster your application when reaching for higher education!

Teen Mentoring Awards include the Leadership in Action award (LiA), the Program Aide award (PA), the Counselor-in-Training award (CIT I and CIT II), and the Volunteer-in-Training award (VIT)!

Learn more about Teen Mentoring Awards.

Holly Hammann Award (Campership)

Available for Girl Scouts in grades 5-9.

Holly Hammann was an avid Girl Scout. As a girl and an adult, she brought fun and enthusiasm to all. Holly worked as a counselor at Camp Cleawox and was later a member of the council board of directors. She contributed greatly to the camping experiences of many girls in our council. Very early in Holly’s adulthood, she was the victim of a fatal automobile accident. Holly had many friends and through their generous contributions, a fund was established that gives a full campership for use at one session at resident camp to the girl who best represents the essence of Girl Scouting.

The Holly Hammann Award recognizes a deserving Girl Scout in grades 5-9 who participates actively and shows growth through the Girl Scout program; lives the Girl Scout Promise and Law; helps others discover the meaning of Girl Scouting and shares Girl Scouting with her community through service; and most importantly has a love of camping and a desire to attend resident camp this summer. The recipient is awarded a full campership for use at one session of GSOSW resident camp.

Nominations have closed for 2019. Check back here in December for information on the 2020 award.

Lifesaving Awards

Available to all grade levels.

Two Lifesaving Awards - the Bronze Cross and the Medal of Honor - are awarded to Girl Scouts from 5 through 17 years of age, where evidence presented in accordance with prescribed regulations shows that she saved or attempted to save a life under circumstances that indicate heroism or risk of her own life. Applications for Lifesaving Awards must be requested within 60 days of the incident and submitted within six months after the accident occurred.

  • The Bronze Cross is given for saving a life or attempting to save a life with risk to the candidate’s own life.
  • The Medal of Honor is given for saving a life or attempting to save a life without risk to the candidate’s own life.

If you believe you know a Girl Scout who may qualify for a Lifesaving Award, please contact


Safety Awards

Available to all grade levels.

Safety Awards are earned by following a five-step process for being safe on all of your Girl Scouting adventures - tailored to each grade level. From fire safety to self defense to riding a bike, the Safety Award prepares Girl Scouts at all levels to navigate daily life safely!

Learn grade-level-specific requirements in each of The Girl’s Guide to Girl Scouting.

My Promise, My Faith

Available to all grade levels.

Girl Scouts USA's first national faith award, My Promise, My Faith, helps girls explore how Girl Scouting and faith offer similar ideas about how to act - and how Girl Scouting can tie into faith. This award can be earned once a year, every year as a Girl Scout.

Requirements for My Promise, My Faith can be found in The Girl's Guide to Girl Scouting.

P.R.A.Y. Religious Recognitions

Available to all grade levels.

Religious recognitions are available for girls at every grade level from over two dozen religious organizations through the non-profit organization Programs of Religious Activities with Youth (P.R.A.Y.). Girl Scouts USA recognizes these programs and allows the recognition insignia to be worn on the official uniform. For award information, visit the "Partnerships" section of